The Department Service Commission (DSC) was established on June 20, 1987 to have jurisdiction and control over all service-related and rehabilitative activities of the Department of Virginia.


The governing body consists of the Supervisor of the Roanoke NSO Office, at least 6 Commissioners, serving 3-year terms of office, and the Chairs of the following Service Committees/Programs:


  •  DAV Transportation Program for Virginia & Washington, D.C. VAMCs

  •  Department and Chapter Service Officers (DSO’s/CSO’s)

  •  Employment Committee

  •  Finance Committee 

  •  Homeless Veterans Committee

  •  Incarcerated Veterans Assistance Committee (IVAC)

  •  Local Veterans Assistance Program (LVAP)

  •  State VAVS Chairperson

  •  Veterans Treatment Docket

  •  Emergency Relief Committee

  •  Winter Sports Clinic Committee

  •  Women Veterans Committee


DSC Chairman:              John W. King, PDC


                                    to e-mail the Chairman: click here

DSC/LVAP Secretary:  Debbie Wood

                                    540-206-2575, ext 3

                                    to e-mail Ms. Wood: click here


DSC Employee Handbook, (in process of updating)

DSC Policy & Procedures, (in process of updating)



LVAP Policy-Department , click here

National LVAP Reporting Memo (2016), click here

DAV Chapter LVAP Report Form, click here

DAV/DAVA Individual LVAP Monthly Log, click here

DAVA LVAP Report Form, click here

LVAP PowerPoint Seminar, 2017,  click here

DSC Organization Chart, click here